

MAIN FUNCTIONS OF THE SCIENCE COMMITTEE¹

SC 05/2006 Doc 3.1

7 April 2006

- 7.1.2 **The Science Committee** comprises the Vice-President as Chair and the 8 Division Coordinators as members. The President and Executive Secretary are *ex officio* members. The Chair may invite the participation of additional members, e.g. Division Deputy Coordinators. Its main functions are:
- 7.1.2.1 To approve terms of reference for new Research Groups and Working Parties and to recommend to the Board when such IUFRO Units should be terminated.
- 7.1.2.2 To review periodically, and coordinate where possible, the programmes of the Research Groups.
- 7.1.2.3 To discuss nominees for Coordinator and Deputy Coordinator offices of Research Groups and make recommendations to the Board.
- 7.1.2.4 To develop the scientific programme of the Congress, for which a Congress Scientific Committee, a subcommittee of the Science Committee, may be established.
- 7.1.2.5 To review and guide the Task Forces agreed by the Board to be under the Science Committee.

¹ Extract from the IUFRO Internal Regulations (Section V – Board)